Pinchas Zukerman

Music Director, National Arts Centre Orchestra

Pinchas Zukerman has been a musical phenomenon for four decades.  His genius, prodigious technique and exceptional artistic standards are a marvel to critics and audiences.  His devotion to younger generations of musicians inspired by his magnetism has been applauded worldwide.  Equally respected as a violinist, violist, conductor, pedagogue and chamber musician, Pinchas Zukerman is a master of our time.

Pinchas Zukerman was named Music Director of the National Arts Centre Orchestra in 1998, and he continues to guest conduct and perform with the world’s finest orchestras. He turned 60 on July 16, 2008 and celebrates with a 2008-09 season comprising well over 100 concert engagements and travel to 17 countries including France, India, Israel, China, Turkey, Peru, New Zealand, Austria, Russia and the United Arab Emerates.  He performs orchestra, solo recital and chamber music repertoire in 34 cities. He appears with London’s Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, of which he is Principal Guest Conductor, in Moscow, Italy and Spain; the Dallas Symphony Orchestra on tour in the US; the Israel Philharmonic in New York’s Carnegie Hall, Bombay and Israel; the New York Philharmonic, Chicago Symphony, Cleveland Orchestra, National Symphony Orchestra, Orchestra Philharmonique de Radio France and Gulbenkian Orchestra. Mr. Zukerman and pianist Marc Neikrug give recitals in Vienna, Philadelphia, New York and Chicago. 

Mr. Zukerman also leads the Zukerman ChamberPlayers founded in 2003 – a string ensemble of talented musicians mainly from the NAC Orchestra which has already performed more than 80 concerts at the most prestigious festivals in North America and Europe. It has recorded five CDs including a highly acclaimed release in 2008 of Schubert’s Trout Quintet with guest pianist Yefim Bronfman.

Pinchas Zukerman is the driving force behind the national role the NAC plays in education. He founded the NAC Summer Music Institute (SMI) in 1999 which now includes the Young Artists Programme, Conductors Programme and Composers Programme. Over ten years the SMI has provided training with an international faculty headed by Zukerman to 581 participants from 34 countries. In 2007, Pinchas Zukerman launched the Institute of Orchestral Studies, a season-long institute charged with developing highly talented musicians for orchestral careers. A pioneer of distance learning, he champions the NAC’s broadband videoconferencing programme known as Hexagon. He also continues his role as Director of the Pinchas Zukerman Performance Program at the Manhattan School of Music

Since the arrival of Pinchas Zukerman, the National Arts Centre Orchestra tours regularly both nationally and internationally. These tours now include a strong educational component. He led enormously successful Canadian tours in 1999, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006 and 2008, as well as critically acclaimed tours to the Middle East and Europe in 2000, and the United States and Mexico in 2003, all highlighted by unprecedented outreach activities and innovative internet activities on the NAC’s website at www.nac-cna.ca

Pinchas Zukerman’s discography contains over 100 titles, and has earned him 21 Grammy nominations and two Grammy awards. He has made five recordings with the NAC Orchestra and been involved in a number of national radio and television broadcasts.

Born in Tel Aviv in 1948, Pinchas Zukerman studied music with Ilona Feher and, in 1962, came to America with the support of Isaac Stern, Pablo Casals, and the America-Israel and Helena Rubenstein Foundations. He came to America in 1962 to study with Ivan Galamian on scholarship at The Juilliard School, and in 1967 was named first-prize winner of the 25th Leventritt Competition.

In 1983, President Reagan awarded Pinchas Zukerman a Medal of Arts for his leadership in the musical world. In October 2002, he became the first recipient of the Isaac Stern Award for Artistic Excellence at the National Arts Awards Gala in New York City, and in May 2006 was appointed as the Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative’s first instrumentalist mentor in the music discipline.

Pinchas Zukerman

Directeur musical, Orchestre du Centre national des Arts

 

Pinchas Zukerman est reconnu depuis quarante ans comme un véritable phénomène de la musique. Son génie musical et sa technique prodigieuse, doublés d’une exceptionnelle rigueur  artistique, émerveillent critiques et auditoires. Partout dans le monde, on salue son dévouement pour les jeunes musiciens, qu’il inspire par son charisme. Renommé aussi bien comme violoniste que comme altiste, chef d’orchestre, pédagogue et chambriste, il est un maître de notre temps.

Directeur musical de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts depuis 1998, Pinchas Zukerman  continue par ailleurs de se produire, comme chef et comme soliste, avec les meilleurs ensembles du monde. Pour célébrer ses 60 ans, qu’il a eu le 16 juillet 2008, il a inscrit à son calendrier une saison 2008-2009 fort occupée comprenant plus de 100 engagements dans 17 pays, dont la France, l’Inde, Israël, la Chine, la Turquie, le Pérou, la Nouvelle-Zélande, l’Autriche, la Russie et les Émirats arabes unis. Il donne des concerts d’orchestre, de musique de chambre ainsi que des récitals solo dans 34 villes, avec notamment le Royal Philharmonic Orchestra de Londres (dont il est le premier chef invité) à Moscou, en Italie et en Espagne; l’Orchestre symphonique de Dallas en tournée aux États-Unis; l’Orchestre philharmonique d’Israël au Carnegie Hall de New York, à Bombay et en Israël; l’Orchestre philharmonique de New York, les orchestres symphoniques de Chicago et de Cleveland, le National Symphony Orchestra, l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France et le Gulbenkian Orchestra. Avec le pianiste Marc Neikrug, il donne des récitals à Vienne, Philadelphie, New York et Chicago.

Il dirige par ailleurs l’Ensemble de chambre Zukerman, un orchestre à cordes regroupant de talentueux musiciens, membres pour la plupart de l’Orchestre du CNA, qui a déjà à son actif, depuis sa création en 2003, plus de 80 prestations dans les plus prestigieux festivals d’Amérique du Nord et d’Europe, et cinq CD, dont un album très bien accueilli à sa sortie en 2008, qu’il a réalisé avec le pianiste Yefim Bronfman, comportant le Quintette La Truite de Schubert.

Pinchas Zukerman a été le fer de lance du rôle national que joue le CNA dans le domaine de l’éducation. En 1999, il a fondé l’Institut estival de musique du CNA, qui regroupe maintenant le Programme des jeunes artistes, le Programme de direction d’orchestre et le Programme des compositeurs. En dix ans, 581 jeunes participants de 34 pays ont reçu une formation auprès d’une équipe de pédagogues de renommée internationale chapeautée par Zukerman lui-même. Puis en 2007, le maestro a mis sur pied l’Institut de musique orchestrale, un programme échelonné sur toute l’année qui prépare de jeunes artistes de grand talent à une carrière de musicien d’orchestre. Pionnier du téléenseignement, il se fait le champion du programme de vidéoconférence par connexion à large bande du CNA, connu sous le nom d’Hexagone. Il assume par ailleurs toujours la direction du Pinchas Zukerman Performance Program de la Manhattan School of Music.

Depuis que Pinchas Zukerman est en poste à l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts, l’ensemble  effectue régulièrement des tournées nationales et internationales. Ces tournées comportent désormais un important volet éducatif. Le maestro a accompagné l’Orchestre dans des tournées canadiennes qui ont remporté un énorme succès en 1999, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006 et 2008, ainsi que dans des tournées saluées par la critique au Moyen-Orient et en Europe en 2000, et aux États-unis et au Mexique en 2003. Toutes ces tournées ont donné lieu à des activités de rayonnement sans précédent et à des activités innovatrices sur le site Internet du CNA (www.nac-cna.ca).

La discographie de Pinchas Zukerman comprend plus d’une centaine d’enregistrements qui lui ont valu 21 nominations et deux prix Grammy. Il a gravé cinq albums avec l’Orchestre du CNA et a réalisé plusieurs captations pour diffusion nationale à la radio et à la télévision.

Né à Tel-Aviv en 1948, Pinchas Zukerman a eu pour maître Ilona Feher avant de venir étudier en Amérique en 1962 auprès d’Ivan Galamian à l’École Juilliard grâce à l’appui d’Isaac Stern, de Pablo Casals, de la Fondation culturelle Amérique-Israël et de la Fondation Helena Rubinstein. En 1967, il remportait le premier prix au 25e Concours international Leventritt.

En 1983, le président Ronald Reagan lui a remis la Médaille des arts pour son leadership dans le monde de la musique. En octobre 2002, il est devenu le premier lauréat du prix Isaac Stern pour l’excellence artistique, attribué à l’occasion du gala des National Arts Awards présenté à New York. Puis en mai 2006, il a été choisi pour être le premier mentor d’instrumentistes dans le volet musique du Programme Rolex de mentorat artistique.