This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Step up to dance!

Enter this exciting world on ArtsAlive.ca.

Dance lovers, students and teachers: this is where you'll find engaging and interactive educational resources, videos, games, learning tools and a wealth of information designed to build your understanding of and appreciation for dance. 

Begin your journey here, then go out and see dance and experience movement live. Cultivate your lifelong love for this dynamic art form. It’s cool! It's hot! It provokes and makes you think, feel and move!

 
 

Here’s what you’ll find:

Dance 101
Discover why people dance and let us introduce you to a variety of dance forms and styles. Learn dance facts and brush up on your dance lingo with engaging glossaries of dance and anatomy terms.  Don't forget to explore terrific links and references!
Understanding Dance
Find out where to see dance in Canada and around the world. Gain tips to facilitate your appreciation of the art form, then focus your attention on dance literacy to be able to read and write about it.
Making Dance
Delve into engaging information on the process of creating dance and the elements of choreography. Professions in dance abound: Find out what they are and gain advice from professionals on pursuing a career in the field.
Meet the Artists
Immerse yourself in hundreds of biographies: learn about top Canadian and international dance artists. Learn about the people involved in the past, present and future of theatrical dance.
Mediatheque
Whet your appetite for seeing dance live! Sample dozens of videos and enjoy stunning photography. Watch exclusive interviews with artists like Édouard Lock, Veronica Tennant, Jérôme Bel, Karen Kain and more.
Your Turn!
Take the reins! This is where you get to be in the spotlight as student, artist and creator! Compose in the Virtual Dance Studio. Quiz yourself on seven dance, anatomy and health-related topics. Send us your dance news, reviews and compositions!

Resources:

For Students
Delve into engaging information on the performing arts. There’s a lot to discover!
For Teachers
Brings ArtsAlive.ca into the classroom. We’ll show you how.
For Parents
Find resources of interest to you and your family.

Subscribe to NAC Podcasts

Subscribe to NAC Newsletters

Photo: Dancing on top of a mountain, 2004; Dancer: Troy Feldmen; Photographer: Andrea Simpson-Fowler

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Entrez dans la danse!

Découvrez ce monde excitant sur Artsvivants.ca

Amateurs, élèves et enseignants de la danse : voici des ressources éducatives attrayantes et interactives, des vidéos, des jeux, des outils d’apprentissage et une mine de renseignements conçus pour vous aider à mieux comprendre et apprécier l’art de la danse. 

Commencez votre voyage d’exploration ici, puis allez voir des spectacles de danse et vivez l’expérience du mouvement en direct. Cultivez pour la vie votre amour de cet art dynamique, provocant et inspirant, qui vous fera réfléchir, vibrer et bouger! La danse, c’est tellement cool!

 
 

Voici ce que vous trouverez dans ces pages :

Danse 101
Apprenez ce qui motive les danseurs et découvrez une variété de formes et de styles. Glanez quelques faits sur la danse et acquérez le jargon de la discipline grâce à nos attrayants glossaires de la danse et de l’anatomie humaine. N’oubliez pas d’explorer les formidables liens et références proposés!
Comprendre la danse
Découvrez les lieux de diffusion de la danse au Canada et dans le monde. Obtenez des conseils pour vous aider à apprécier cet art, et initiez-vous à son langage pour pouvoir lire et écrire sur le sujet.
Comment naît la danse
Une mine de renseignements passionnants sur le processus créatif et sur les bases de la chorégraphie. Les professions ne manquent pas en danse : découvrez-les et obtenez des conseils de professionnels sur la poursuite d’une carrière dans ce champ d’activité.
Rendez-vous artistiques
Plongez-vous dans des centaines de biographies : tout ce qu’il faut savoir sur les plus grands danseurs et chorégraphes d’ici et d’ailleurs. Explorez le passé, le présent et l’avenir de la danse théâtrale.
Médiathèque
Aiguisez votre appétit pour la danse en direct! Voyez des dizaines d’extraits vidéo et de photographies saisissantes. Regardez des entrevues exclusives avec des artistes comme Édouard Lock, Veronica Tennant, Jérôme Bel, Karen Kain et bien d’autres.
À vous de jouer!
Prenez les rênes! Vous voici sous les feux de la rampe à la fois comme élève et artiste! Composez vos propres chorégraphies au Studio de danse virtuel. Mettez vos connaissances à l’épreuve sur sept sujets liés à la danse, à l’anatomie et à la santé. Envoyez-nous vos informations, comptes rendus et créations!

Ressources:

Pour les élèves
Fouillez dans cette mine de renseignements pour en savoir plus sur les arts d’interprétation.
Pour les enseignants
Faites entrer Artsvivants.ca dans votre classe. Nous vous montrons comment.
Pour les parents
Trouvez des ressources qui intéresseront tous les membres de la famille.

Subscribe to NAC Podcasts

Subscribe to NAC Newsletters

Photo : Dancing on top of a mountain, 2004; Interprète : Troy Feldmen; Photographe : Andrea Simpson-Fowler